Daily deals

Eh
Jennifer Stevenson’s SEX FILES #3, third in the forthcoming series beginning with The Brass Bed, about an English lord bound to a brass bed by a witch’s curse until he satisfies 100 women — the one hundredth being a Chicago fraud detective Jewel Heiss, to Betsy Mitchell at Del Rey, in a nice deal, by Donald Maass of the Donald Maass Literary Agency (World). dmaass@maassagency.com

I think I’ve read her. . . but maybe not.
Linda Castillo’s SWORN TO SILENCE, which centers around a series of shocking murders taking place in Amish country, the female cop (who is one of the tiny percentage of Amish who leave the faith) investigating them, and the contrast between the Amish and ‘English’ communities, to Charles Spicer at Minotaur, in a good deal, by Nancy Yost at Lowenstein-Yost (World English).

I’ll expect Marcia Cross to follow up with her own book. Who thinks this is ghost written?
Actress Courtney Thorne-Smith’s OUTSIDE IN, a comedic novel that captures the sparkling absurdities of life in LA and explores the less glamorous side of success in the entertainment world, to Ann Campbell at Broadway, for publication in September 2007, by Lydia Wills of Paradigm (world).

Is this woman related to Violet Winspear of the HP fame?
French rights to two-time Agatha Award winner Jacqueline Winspear’s MAISIE DOBBS and BIRDS OF A FEATHER, the first two books in the Maisie Dobbs mystery series, to the Livres des Poches of Librairie Generale Francaise, by Boris Hoffman at Agence
Hoffman, on behalf of Soho Press and Amy Rennert at the Amy Rennert Agency.

0 comments on “Daily deals

  1. I want to read the Linda Castillo. The 3 books of hers that I’ve read have been great. Very dark, but an excellent kind of dark.

    And the Jacqueline Winspear books sound good. I think I saw someone recommend them for those who liked the Laurie R. King Sherlock Holmes series.

  2. Thanks for the pointer to the Winspear books; love Laurie R. King (although not the Sherlock Holmes series). But why are the Winspear books not available as ebooks (rant, rant).

  3. I’ve read Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs. It’s a pretty good historical mystery set in 1929 Britain with flashbacks to World War I and before. Maisie, the heroine, was a nurse on the front and is still haunted by the war, as are some of the other characters who are tied to the mystery she investigates. It’s a pretty good book, maybe a B or so for me.

    I doubt that JW is any relation to VW. Her writing is far more restrained, and I always thought that “Violet Winspear” sounded like a pseudonym.

  4. As far as I know, Violet Winspear is her real name. To be honest, it never occurred to me it’d be a pseudonym because there is a HUGE army of women with similar names around here.

    Violet, Lillian, Dot/Dottie/Dorothy, Iris, Margaret, Georgette, Daisy, Mary, Jean and Rose are names that crop up most when meeting elderly ladies around here. So ‘Violet Winspear’ seems plausible enough for me not to believe it’s a pen name.

    I believe she passed away a few years ago and I don’t believe she’s related to Jacqueline Winspear.

  5. It was great, I really had loads of fun when I read Violet Winspear’s books. They are filled with excitement and I just can’t wait for her next book to be released. Keep up the good work Violet.

  6. hello evry one i’m a new member here and i just wanted to ask you a favor.
    its been a while now and i’m searching for web sites for free downloding or at lest reading do ypu know some ? please if you know tell me .
    and espechially for violet winspear , Anne mether , patricia wilson and margaret way .
    please will someone help me ? at lest i want a web site that i can read thies stories from .

  7. Violet Winspear (that was her real name) passed away in 1989 after a long battle with cancer.
    No she was not related to Jaqueline Winspear.

Leave a Reply

